خمس قضايا متجهه حاليا في التربية الخاصة

يتم الآن تقديم غالبية الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة في الفصول الدراسية للتعليم العام حيث نتبنى الممارسات الشاملة في مدارسنا. تتغير الديناميكيات الأساسية للفصول الدراسية العامة بسبب هذه التدابير الشاملة. إن استمرار ندرة معلمي التربية الخاصة والتحرك نحو التدريس الجماعي أو التدريس المشترك يؤثران على العملية التي تتناولها المناطق التعليمية الخاصة أيضًا. تتلاشى الخطوط في التشخيص وعلم أصول التدريس والتعليم بين الفصول الدراسية للتعليم العام ونهج التعليم الخاص في التدريس.

كما ذكرنا هنا وفي السابق المدونة المشاركات ، فإن الفصل الدراسي يتغير. أصبح تركيز المعلمين أكثر على دعم الطلاب الذين يواجهون الصدمات والأحداث الكارثية والإعاقات المتعددة والمواهب الخاصة ، كل ذلك دون الاستفادة من التشخيص الواضح. هذا يترك معلمي فصول التعليم العام مسؤولين عن الحاجة الأكبر لفهم تعلم الطلاب الذي يقع خارج نطاق ورقة العمل والقارئ الأساسي.

دعنا نلقي نظرة أعمق على بعض من أهم خمس قضايا تتجه حاليًا في عالم التربية الخاصة.

تقنية

مع استمرار التكنولوجيا في تغيير الفصل الدراسي بشكل كبير ، يتم استهداف الطلاب الذين لديهم برامج التعليم الفردي (IEPs) بشكل خاص للحصول على دعم إضافي. من خلال الاستفادة من التكنولوجيا ، يمكن تحسين التدريس في الفصول الدراسية من خلال مناسبات التعلم الفردية ، مما يتيح للمدرسين قدرًا أكبر من المرونة للتمايز في التدريس من خلال فرص التعلم المختلطة ومجموعة متنوعة من الممارسات المستندة إلى الويب والقائمة على الأدلة. لم يعد الطلاب عالقين في فصل دراسي لا يفهمونه ، ويتعلمون بوتيرة لا يمكنهم مواكبة ذلك.

التدريس المستنير بالصدمات

غالبًا ما يواجه الطلاب والمعلمون مواقف صعبة خارجة عن إرادتهم. إدارة هذه المواقف ومعالجة التأثير العاطفي يمكن أن يجعل التعليمات اليومية تبدو تافهة بالمقارنة. كيف تواجه حدثًا صادمًا وتستمر في تعلم الكسور؟

في هذا العام الدراسي ، شهدنا فيضانات وحرائق وأعاصير وانهيارات طينية ودوامات قطبية وأعاصير تؤثر على المجتمعات. بالتأكيد يجب اعتبار هذه الأحداث مؤلمة! تحسب الشبكة الوطنية للإجهاد الناتج عن صدمة الطفل (NCTSN) الكوارث الطبيعية على أنها أحداث صادمة. يُعرِّف NCTSN الحدث الصادم بأنه "حدث مخيف أو خطير أو عنيف يشكل تهديدًا لحياة الطفل أو سلامته الجسدية". يتفاعل كل طالب مع الصدمة بطريقته الخاصة. على الرغم من عدم وجود مجموعة واضحة من الإشارات التي يجب تحديدها ، إلا أن هناك العديد من الموارد التي تصف العلامات المحتملة للصدمة التي يجب الانتباه إليها. وفقًا لـ NCTSN ، هناك مجموعة متنوعة من السلوكيات التي قد تلاحظها لدى الطلاب المتأثرين بالصدمة.

يتعامل هؤلاء الطلاب مع مشكلات بعيدة عن الفصل الدراسي ، لكنها تؤثر على التعلم. تعتبر طريقة تعامل الطلاب فريدة بالنسبة لهم ، لكنهم غير مؤهلين للحصول على خدمات التربية الخاصة على الفور. تتوفر موارد فحص الصدمات للمعلمين لمساعدة مقدمي الخدمات على تحديد احتياجات الأطفال والأسر. تعد معرفة الإشارات والموارد خطوة أولى لإدارة فصل تعليمي عام مع هؤلاء الطلاب المميزين.

يحتاج الطلاب الذين يواجهون الصدمة بالتأكيد إلى أماكن إقامة خاصة. يتأثر عالمهم وعملهم بشكل كبير بقوى خارجة عن سيطرتهم. هناك سلوكيات يمكننا البحث عنها وموارد يمكننا وضعها في مكانها الصحيح ، ولكن بصفتنا معلمين ، وغالبًا ما نشارك في نفس الأحداث الكارثية ، نحتاج إلى أن نكون على دراية بالموارد وأن نعمل كجزء من الحل ، وليس الحل الوحيد.

لاستكشاف بعض الطرق التي يمكن للمعلمين من خلالها دعم الطلاب الذين مروا بصدمة ، بالإضافة إلى بعض الموارد الإضافية

التشرد

يدرك المعلمون جيدًا تأثير الفقر على الطلاب والتعلم. لكن ، هل تعرف كم عدد طلابك بلا مأوى؟ هذا تحد يواجهه عدد أكبر من الطلاب مما قد تتوقعه ، وبموجب متطلبات قانون كل طالب ينجح (ESSA) الجديد ، يتم التركيز بشكل متزايد على مراقبة النمو الأكاديمي لهذه الفئة المحددة من السكان. مرة أخرى ، يتناسب هؤلاء الطلاب خارج نطاق طلاب التربية الخاصة المعترف بهم تقليديًا.

بالنسبة للطلاب المشردين ، يمكن أن يكون الفصل الدراسي هو المكان الآمن والمستقر في حياتهم اليومية ، وربطًا مهمًا لسلامة وأمن الروتين ، وربما الأهم من ذلك ، دعمًا أساسيًا في رحلة الخروج من الفقر والوصول إلى وضع أفضل. يضطر هؤلاء الطلاب للتعامل مع تحديات كبيرة وصعبة ومترابطة خارج الفصل الدراسي والتي تؤثر حتماً على الأداء الأكاديمي والقدرة على المشاركة في التدريس.

في هذه المرحلة ، لا ينبغي أن يكون مفاجئًا أنه بالنسبة للأطفال الذين تم تحديدهم بالفعل على أنهم بحاجة إلى خدمات التعليم الخاص ، يمكن أن تؤدي ضغوط التشرد إلى تفاقم مشاكل التعلم. بعد كل شيء ، غالبًا ما تكون التحولات صعبة على الأطفال ذوي الاستثناءات - هل يمكنك تخيل أي شيء انتقالي أكثر من عدم وجود مكان ثابت للنوم كل ليلة؟ ومع ذلك ، لم يخضع جميع الطلاب المشردين لعملية التقييم (أو يحتاجون إلى ذلك) ، لذا فإن توفير الدعم والموارد التعليمية ليس خيارًا ، ولكن ضع في اعتبارك مدى صعوبة تعامل طلاب التعليم العام مع عدم اليقين في الظروف والاستمرار في ذلك. الحفاظ على التركيز على التدريس في الفصول الدراسية.

الرابط: https://blog.edmentum.com/five-current-trending-issues-special-education

أخبرنا عن أفكاركإرسال رسالة

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

عد إلى بلايز ، جاكيت وقمصان
اغلاق زوم
Arabic English

إتصل

لا يمكنك نسخ محتوى هذه الصفحة

Five Current Trending Issues in Special Education

The majority of students with disabilities is now served in general education classrooms as we embrace inclusive practices in our schools. The primary dynamics of the general ed classroom is changing due to these inclusive measures. Continuing scarcity of special education teachers and movement toward team teaching or co-teaching impact the process that districts approach special education as well. The lines are blurring in diagnosis, pedagogy, and instruction between a general education classroom and special education approaches to instruction.

As mentioned, both here and in previous blog posts, the classroom is changing. The focus of educators is becoming more about supporting students who face trauma, catastrophic events, multiple disabilities, and special talents, all without the benefit of a clear diagnosis. This is leaving general education classroom teachers responsible for a greater need for understanding of student learning that falls outside the realm of a worksheet and basal reader.

Let’s take a deeper look into some of the top five issues that are currently trending in the world of special education.

Technology

As technology continues to substantially alter the classroom, students with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) are especially targeted for extra support. By leveraging technology, classroom instruction can be enhanced with individual learning occasions, which allows teachers greater flexibility for differentiation in instruction through blended learning opportunities and the variety of Web-based, evidence-based practices. No longer are students stuck in a classroom they don’t understand, learning at a pace they can’t keep up with.

Trauma-Informed Teaching

Students and teachers are often faced with dire situations far outside their control. Managing these situations and addressing the emotional impact can make day-to-day instruction feel trivial in comparison. How do you face a traumatic event and continue to learn fractions?

This school year, we have seen flooding, fires, tornados, mudslides, polar vortexes, and hurricanes affect communities. Surely these should be considered traumatic events! The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) counts natural disasters as traumatic events. The NCTSN defines a traumatic event as a “frightening, dangerous, or violent event that poses a threat to a child’s life or bodily integrity.” Each student reacts to trauma in his or her own way. While there is no clear-cut set of cues to spot, there are many resources describing possible signs of trauma to keep an eye out for. According to the NCTSN, there is a variety of behaviors that you might observe in students affected by trauma.

These students are dealing with issues that are far outside of the classroom, yet impact learning. How students deal is unique to them, but they do not qualify for special education services immediately. Trauma-screening resources are available for educators to help providers identify children’s and families’ needs. Knowing the signs and resources is a first step to managing a general education classroom with these special students.

Students who face trauma certainly require special accommodations. Their world and work are significantly impacted by forces outside of their control. There are behaviors we can look for and resources we can put in place, but as educators, and often participants of the same catastrophic events, we need to be aware of the resources and act as part of the solution, not the only solution.

To explore some of the ways that educators can support students who have gone through trauma, as well as some additional resources

Homelessness

Educators are well aware of the impact of poverty on students and learning. But, do you know how many of your students are homeless? This is a challenge being faced by more students than you might expect, and under new Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requirements, increased focus is being placed on monitoring the academic growth of this specific population. Again, these students fit outside the realm of traditionally acknowledged special education students.

For homeless students, the classroom could be the one safe, stable place in their day-to-day lives, an important tether to the safety and security of routine and, perhaps most critically, an essential support in the journey out of poverty and into a better situation. These students are being forced to deal with significant, difficult, and interrelated challenges outside of the classroom that inevitably impact academic performance and the ability to participate in instruction.

At this point, it should come as no surprise that for children already identified as needing special education services, the stresses of homelessness can exacerbate learning problems. After all, transitions are often hard for children with exceptionalities—can you imagine anything more transitional than being without a consistent place to sleep every night? However, not all homeless students have gone through the evaluation process (or need to), so providing educational support and resources is not an option, but consider how difficult it must be for general education students to deal with the uncertainty of circumstances and continue to maintain focus on classroom instruction.

Link: https://blog.edmentum.com/five-current-trending-issues-special-education

Tell us about your thoughtsWrite message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top
Close Zoom
Arabic English

Call Now

error: Content is protected !!