جسر الكلية

كوليدج بريدج- مركز العقل لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

نحن ندعم الطلاب الذين أكملوا المرحلة الثانوية أو على وشك إنهاء تعليمهم الثانوي ولكن لديهم تحديات اجتماعية أو سلوكية أو وظيفية للتسجيل في الكليات ، سواء كانت محلية أو عبر الإنترنت. نحن نقدم الدعم من خلال خدمة شاملة ، بناءً على أفكار الطلاب والاحتياجات المحددة. يتم استكمال قائمة مراجعة مهارات الاهتمام مع الطالب لتحديد ما يحب وما يكره وكذلك مهاراته في مختلف المجالات الأكاديمية و / المهنية. ستجرى مناقشة مراجعة مع مدرستهم أو كليتهم الحالية وسيشارك أولياء الأمور في ذلك. وجود إعاقة في التعلم أو التوحد، لا ينبغي أن تحد من الخيارات.

يفشل الكثير منا في فهم كيف يمكن أن يؤدي نقص خدمات الدعم المؤسسي إلى إعاقة التجربة التعليمية للطلاب ذوي الإعاقة والتأثير عليها. على الرغم من وجود قوانين في قطر لضمان عدم تعرض الطلاب للتمييز؛ القانون رقم 2 لعام 2004 بشأن الأشخاص ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة،ما زالت مدارسنا لا تفعل ما يكفي لضمان تخرج الطلاب ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة من المدرسة الثانوية والتسجيل في الكلية.

كيف يمكن أن نساعد؟

لا تركز العديد من برامج المدارس الثانوية التي تتضمن الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة على التحديات والمهارات الشخصية الخاصة بهؤلاء. و بالتالي فان إدارة الوقت والمطالب الاجتماعية تؤثر على نجاح الطلاب و تجعلهم عرضة للفشل. في المدرسة الثانوية، يكون لدى الطالب جدول زمني مع فصل تلو الآخر، يتبعه واجبات منزلية يتم الإشراف عليها إلى حد ما من قبل أحد الوالدين أو الوصي في المنزل. ومع ذلك، في الجامعة قد يحصل الطالب على فصلين متتاليين دون أي فصول أخرى خلال اليومين المقبلين - وهو تحول كبير في الجدول الزمني عما اعتادوا عليه عادةً في التعليم الثانوي. و لذلك يجب أن تكون هناك عملية "انتقالية" لكل من الطلاب وأولياء الأمور والتي تركز على الوعي الذاتي والدفاع عن الذات وتقرير المصير والمساءلة. نحن في مركز مايند لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة (MCSN )نركز على عمليات الانتقال هذه.

كيف لنا أن نفعل ذلك؟

نعمل في مركز مايند لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة (MCSN) بشكل وثيق مع طلابنا. من الخطوة الأولى في العثور على كلية مناسبة للطالب والأسرة إلى ضمان اختيار طالبنا للكلية التي تقدم خدمات إعاقات داعمة ومرحبة، مثل جامعة قطر. ونوجه طلابنا في اختيار التخصص أو مجال الدراسة الذي يتحدث عن احتياجاتهم واهتماماتهم الخاصة. كما نقدم دعماً إضافياً من خلال مجموعة من البرامج مدتها 10 أسابيع، ونساعد طلابنا في إدارة رزنامتهم والبقاء على رأس مهامهم.

كما نساعد الطلاب على التعامل مع وصمة العار المرتبطة بصعوبات التعلم. بينما يتحسن الوعي بصعوبات التعلم بشكل عام، ستكون هناك أوقات تحدث فيها التحديات بسبب افتقار المجتمع الأكبر للتعليم وفهم الإعاقات المحيطة. نحن نعلم طلابنا قبول إعاقاتهم والتحدث عنها وشرح كيف أثرت إعاقاتهم على حياتهم وتعليمهم. كما نوجه طلابنا لاحتضان الاختلافات في التعلم بشكل كامل واستخدامها كأداة لتمكينهم وإعدادهم لتحقيق نجاح أكبر.

الملخص

في حين أن الكلية أو الجامعة ليست للجميع، فمن المؤكد أنها مخصصة لأي شخص يرغب في الالتحاق بالتعليم ما بعد الثانوي. نحن في مركز مايند لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة (MCSN) نمنح طلابنا إمكانية الوصول إلى الموارد والفرص والإرشاد لمساعدتهم على بدء رحلة تعليمهم الخاصة وإنهائها.

العودة الى بلوزة
اغلاق زوم
Arabic English

اتصل الآن

لا يمكنك نسخ محتوى هذه الصفحة

College Bridge

College Bridge- Mind Center for Special Needs

We support students who have completed high school or are about to finish high school education but have social, behavioral, or functioning challenges to enroll into colleges, whether local or online. We provide support through a holistic service, based on the students ideas and identified needs. An interest skills checklist is completed with the student to determine their likes and dislikes and also their skills in different academic and or vocational areas. A review discussion will take place with their current school or college and parents will be involved in this. Having a learning disability or autism, should not limit options.

Many of us fail to understand how the lack of institutional support services can hinder and impact the educational experience of students with disabilities. Although Qatar has laws in place to ensure students are not subject to discrimination; Law No. 2 of 2004 in respect of People with Special Needs, our schools are still not doing enough to ensure that students with special needs do graduate high school and move forward to college.

How can we help?

Many of the high school programs that include students with disabilities do not focus on interpersonal challenges and soft skills. Challenges such as studying, time management, and social demands can impact students’ successes and unfortunately, set them up for failure. In high school, a student has a schedule with one class after the other, followed by homework that is often supervised to some degree by a parent or guardian at home. In university, however, a student may have two classes back-to-back without any other classes for the next two days – a huge shift in schedule from what they’re typically used to in secondary education. There should be a “transition” process for both students and parents that focus on self-awareness, self-advocacy, self-determination, and accountability. We at MCSN work on those transition processes.

How do we do it?

We at MSCN work closely with our students. From the very first step of finding a college that is a good fit for the student and the family to ensuring that our student chooses a college that offers supportive and welcoming disability services, such as Qatar University. We guide our students in choosing a major or area of study that speaks to their specific needs and interests. We offer additional support by putting together a 10-week calendar, and we help our student manage the calendar and stay on top of their tasks.

We also help students deal with the stigma associated with learning disabilities. While learning disabilities awareness is improving overall, there will be times when challenges occur due to the larger community’s lack of education and understanding surrounding disabilities. We teach our students to accept their disabilities, talk about them and explain how their disabilities impacted their life and education. We mentor our students to fully embrace their learning differences and use them as an asset and as a tool to empower them and set them up for greater success.

Summary

While college or university is not for everyone, it most definitely is for anyone who wants to attend post-secondary education. We at MCSN give our students access to resources, opportunities, and mentorship to help them start and finish their education journey.

Back to Top
Close Zoom
Arabic English

Call Now

You cannot copy content of this page